Diverse values of water – Economic, environmental and cultural

Webinar | 7 November 2023| 16:00 AEDT

Hosted by the Australian Water Partnership and World Bank, this webinar will showcase a series of “riverside chats” around innovations in cultural, environmental and economic values in water reform, drawing on experiences from Australia and the Mekong Region.  

Accurately valuing water helps us reveal the costs and benefits of different actions—or lack of action—and how these costs and benefits are distributed across users, uses, time and space.  

Understanding different types of value – such as economic, environmental and cultural – leads to more informed decision making, from the household level through to governments that make decisions that affect industries, communities and the environment. This is increasingly important around the globe in the face of growing scarcity of water resources due to climate change and population growth. 

Discussions will draw on Valuing Water: The Australian Perspective – Lessons from the Murray-Darling Basin” case studies and synthesis reports, which are a collaborative effort between the World Bank, the Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and the Australian Water Partnership, to promote more equitable, transparent and effective management of water resources development. The case studies and synthesis reports were prepared by AWP Partners – Robins Consulting, Aither, Alluvium, marsh.eco, and DG Consulting.

The webinar includes authors of the Valuing Water case studies in conversation with representatives from the World Bank, providing valuable ‘place based’ insights that actively consider the different values of water.  

Speakers include: 

  • Sarah Leck, Aither 
  • Dr Leslie “Phil” Duncan, University of Canberra (formerly with Alluvium)
  • Rod Marsh, Watertrust Australia 
  • World Bank speaker (TBC)  

 Date: Tuesday 7 November 2023 

Time: 16:00 AEDT | 12:00 Bangkok | 07:00 Rome 

Register for the webinar via Zoom.  

View the reports online. 

2023-11-07 16:00 2023-11-07 17:00 Australia/Sydney Diverse values of water – Economic, environmental and cultural

Webinar | 7 November 2023| 16:00 AEDT Hosted by the Australian Water Partnership and World Bank, this webinar will showcase a series of “riverside chats” around innovations in cultural, environmental and economic values in water reform, drawing on experiences from Australia and the Mekong Region.   Accurately valuing water helps us reveal the costs and benefits of different actions—or […]

contact@waterpartnership.org.au