Nomination for the Australian Water Partnership Committee

1. The call

Call opened 22 June and closed 13 July 2015.

AWP strategy and operations have been guided by a formally-constituted committee of the eWater company board, known as the AWP Committee.

The Committee consists of nine members: one Director of EWL (who is also the Chair); one nominee of the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT); and seven independent members. Independent membership (i.e. independent of the AWP Grant Agreement parties – EWL and DFAT) was offered to individuals based on their relevant skills and experience and on the basis that they broadly represent the national and international water and development communities, not their own individual organisations or members.

Initial appointments will be for a one year period.  The eWater board and DFAT will review the composition and appointment of the Committee at the end of the first year of AWP operations (in August 2016).

The Committee will meet up to four times in the first year of AWP operations (2015-16), to ensure an effective start-up, and at least twice per year after that.

Full details of the role and responsibilities of the Committee, and of its operations, can be found in the AWP Committee Charter (PDF 620kb).

eWater, on behalf of DFAT and the AWP, called for highly experienced individuals from the water and development sectors across Australia to nominate for one of the seven independent positions on the AWP Committee.

2. The nomination

A summary of experience and expertise against each of the following skills areas:

  1. Knowledge and experience of the Australian Aid Program, and of capacity development and/or economic diplomacy in countries of the Indo-Pacific region.
  2. Knowledge and experience of Australian urban and rural water reform policies and management practices.
  3. Knowledge and experience in the Australian water industry private sector, and of trade and economic development in countries of the Indo-Pacific region.
  4. High-level knowledge and experience of water- and development-related education and applied research in Australia and in the Indo-Pacific region.
  5. Knowledge and experience in the provision of development assistance by non-government organisations, and of local stakeholder engagement to support such activities.


3. The decision process

All applications were assessed against the suite of skills areas above. Gender equality was a key consideration in determining AWP Committee composition, as was sectoral and geographic coverage across Australia.

The EWL Board selected and appointed the seven independent committee members from nominations received, according to these criteria, and in consultation with DFAT. Preferred candidates were contacted by the Chair in the week of July 20 to discuss their availability and conditions of engagement, including remuneration where eligible (see AWP Committee Charter PDF 620kb).

The initial two-day Committee workshop and meeting was held in Canberra on 11-12 August.  Future meetings will be scheduled over one day.

The final decision on the seven independent committee members was announced publicly by eWater and DFAT on 10 August.

For further details please contact AWP CEO Gary Jones on +61 2 6201 5167.  All enquiries will be treated in confidence.


Skip to content